Why should Indian Creators opt for legal review of their Script?

Topics related to finding a Producer, contracts, insurance etc

parambyte
Site Admin

Why should Indian Creators opt for legal review of their Script?

Post by parambyte »

(Reprinted with permission from Anamika Jha's excellent blog here:)

By Anamika Jha, Media Lawyer

Recently, I have watched the film, Mimi. I felt good to see the advising law firm of the production house got a flattening credit in the opening slate! Umm, lawyers are also getting acknowledged! However, as a lawyer, I remain uncomfortable throughout the film.   It is a highly engaging film. I loved the humour elements, stunning performance of the actors and the storytelling. I was trying hard to leave my legal brain aside and focus on the entertainment. Despite this, there were several legal flaws in the film that I couldn't ignore (even trying hard!).